Back to Index




 Video of Panels and Keynotes Now Available Below



Sunday, August 22



Opening Reception

Welcoming Remarks

Edward Mueller, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Qwest Communications




Monday, August 23



Opening Keynote

Carly Fiorina, Chair, Board of Directors, Technology Policy Institute

Prepared Remarks




Keynote Address

Thomas Tauke, Executive Vice President of Public Affairs, Policy and Communications, Verizon



Panel: Whither Broadband Policy?  The FCC, Congress, and the Courts

Meredith Baker, Commissioner, Federal Communication Commission

Shane Greenstein, the Elinor and Wendell Hobbs Professor of Management and Strategy, Kellogg School of Management, Northwestern University 

Fernando Laguarda, Vice President of External Affairs and Policy Counselor, Time Warner Cable 

Blair Levin, Communications and Society Fellow, Aspen Institute and Former Executive Director of the Omnibus Broadband Initiative, Federal Communications Commission 

Walter McCormick, President and Chief Executive Officer, United States Telecom Association (USTelecom) 

Tom Sugrue, Vice President of Government Affairs, T-Mobile 

Scott Wallsten, Vice President of Research and Senior Fellow, Technology Policy Institute (moderator)






Panel: The Internet and the Media - After the First Wave, What's Next?

Lance Kavanaugh, Senior Product Counsel, YouTube

Peter Menell, Professor of Law, University of California, Berkeley and Director, Berkeley Center for Law and Technology

Cary Sherman, President, Recording Industry Association of America

Sam Tarantino, Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Grooveshark

Joel Waldfogel, Frederick R. Kappel Chair in Applied Economics, Carlson School of Management, University of Minnesota

Stan Liebowitz, Ashbel Smith Professor of Economics, University of Texas at Dallas (moderator)



Luncheon Address

 Reid Hoffman, Founder, LinkedIn and Partner, Greylock Partners



Concurrent Breakout Sessions:

Wireless and Spectrum 

Carlos Blanco, Director, International Office, Telefonica

Dale Hatfield, Adjunct Professor, Interdisciplinary Telecommunications Program, University of Colorado, Boulder

Ruth Milkman, Chief, Wireless Telecommunications Bureau, Federal Communications Commission

Darrin Mylet, Advisor,  Adaptrum

Peter Pitsch, Associate General Counsel and Executive Director, Communications Policy, Intel Corporation

Tom Sugrue, Vice President, Government Affairs, T-Mobile

Charla Rath, Vice President, Public Policy, Verizon Wireless

Scott Wallsten, Vice President for Research, Technology Policy Institute (moderator)


Privacy Online: Where Do We Go From Here? 

James Assey, Executive Vice President, National Cable & Telecommunications Association

Pablo Chavez, Managing Policy Counsel and Leader, Federal Public Policy Team, Google

Steve DelBianco, Executive Director, NetChoice

Paul Rubin, Senior Fellow, Technology Policy Institute and Professor of Economics and Law, Emory University

Alan Raul, Partner, Sidley Austin LLP

Daniel Sepulveda, Senior Advisor, Office of U.S. Senator John Kerry

Daniel Weitzner, Associate Administrator for the Office of Policy Analysis and Development, National Telecommunications and Information Administration

Ginsu Yoon, Founder, Bynamite

Thomas Lenard, President and Senior Fellow, Technology Policy Institute (moderator)


Smart Grid

Kathryn C. Brown, Senior Vice President for Public Policy Development and Corporate Responsibility, Verizon

Jeffrey Campbell, Senior Director, Technology and Trade Policy of Global Policy and Government Affairs, Cisco Systems Inc.

Sherman Elliott, Commissioner, Illinois Commerce Commission

Glenn Manishin, Partner, Duane Morris LLP

Patrick J. McCormick III, Partner, Hunton & Williams LLP

Nick Sinai, Energy and Environment Director, Omnibus Broadband Initiative, Federal Communications Commission

Raymond Gifford, Partner, Wilkinson Barker Knauer, LLP and Director, Technology Policy Institute (moderator)






Dinner Keynote

Paul Otellini, President and Chief Executive Officer, Intel Corporation

Prepared Remarks



Tuesday, August 24



Panel: Antitrust and Competition in High-Tech Industries

Tim Bresnahan, Landau Professor of Technology and the Economy, Stanford University

Doug Melamed, Senior Vice President and General Counsel, Intel Corporation

Hal Varian, Chief Economist, Google

Christopher Yoo, Professor of Law and Communication and Director, Center for Technology, Innovation, and Competition, University of Pennsylvania Law School

Thomas Lenard, President and Senior Fellow, Technology Policy Institute (moderator) 




Brad Smith, President and Chief Executive Officer, Intuit






Panel: Views from Wall Street and Silicon Valley:  The Effects of Policy On Investment 

Rebecca Arbogast, Managing Director, Stifel Nicolaus

Reid Hoffman, Co-Founder and Chief Executive Officer, LinkedIn

Chris Marangi, Associate Portfolio Manager, Gamco

Investors, Inc.

Laura Martin, Senior Analyst, Entertainment, Cable and Media, Needham & Company LLC

Scott Wallsten, Vice President of Research and Senior Fellow, Technology Policy Institute (moderator)



Discussion: Serving the Underserved:  What’s the Best Way to Do It? 

Rey Ramsey, Chairman, OneEcomony and President and Chief Executive Officer, TechNet

Joe Waz, Senior Vice President of External Affairs and Public Policy Counsel, Comcast Corporation

Phoebe Yang, Senior Advisor on Broadband to the Chairman and Former General Counsel of the Omibus Broadband Initiative, Federal Communications Commission (moderator)




 Andrew Keen, Author and Advisor to Arts+Labs